Welcome to the

Accommodation Booking

Travel period: 2 Nights
Detailed search options
Total price:
Search by location:
Search by location
Search for accommodation
Loading accomodations ...

Your enquiry

Please fill in all fields marked *.

/ The Salzkammergut

The Salzkammergut

Information on the Salzkammergut

The Salzkammergut is a landscape and historic cultural area in Austria at the northern edge of the Alps.

Seen from a historic point of view the Salzkammergut is a region in Upper Austria around Bad Ischl and Hallstatt, later on also Ebensee and Gmunden. Today the term Salzkammergut more generally covers the region stretching from Lake Fuschlsee, Lake Mondsee into Almtal Valley, from Vöckla Valley to Dachstein and Grimming Mountain.


The Salzkammergut Tourist Region comprises 46 municipalities from three Austrian provinces. The biggest section (72%) is in Upper Austria (districts of Gmunden and Vöcklabruck), a section of 16% , namely the Ausseerland, is in Styria (district of Liezen – political district of Bad Aussee and the smallest section (12%) is part of the province of Salzburg (district of Salzburg-Umgebung).

The tourist region comprises ten region:

  • Ausseerland - Salzkammergut
  • Wolfgangsee Holiday Region
  • Dachstein Salzkammergut Holiday Region
  • Traunsee Holiday Region
  • Attersee Holiday Region
  • Bad Ischl Holiday Region
  • MondSeeLand - Mondsee/Irrsee
  • Fuschlsee Holiday Region
  • Attergau Holiday Region
  • Almtal Holiday Region

The Salzkammergut Tourismus-Marketing GmbH, a holding of the 46 municipalities of the Salzkammergut that are allowed to use the name “Salzkammergut” as a brand name according to the tourist laws of the three provinces, is responsible for marketing this tourist region.

This website uses Cookies.